WINTER READING LIST 2017

DSC_1929

As I sat at the keyboard this morning, I pondered upon what exactly to write about. I thought about advice, critiques and inspiration. I thought about writing nothing at all. That said, however, I found myself inclined to advise my top picks for the winter/summer shelf this year. Though I may have labelled this particular post as, “Winter Reading List 2017,” I am aware the many of you are entering into the summer months and either way, these books will suit both winter and summer! (The title is just a title, after all…)

So, if you’re looking for an all-purpose read, a thrilling read or a curious read allow me to guide you to some of my favourites.

No.1 ANY OCCASION: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Size: This book is large and will require a considerable amount of time to read (or just a few days/hours depending on how much you love it!)

Pros: Upon finishing this novel, inspiration for your own writing is inevitable. If you go away from reading All The Light We Cannot See uninspired, I will be shocked (and demand why such a lack of inspiration exists!) The language is complex and exquisite, creating a visual film within the mind. If there’s one book you SHOULD read, it’s this one.

Cons: It takes a little while to get used to the language selection and phrasing, however once you’ve buckled in for the ride, you’ll be used to it in no time!

No. 2 THRILLING READ: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Size: For those reluctant readers out there, this book works well as it’s a very quick read! Additionally, you are probably bound to become tied to this book once you get going…

Pros: I’m sure most people are familiar with this title and tdsc_1664here’s a reason why you’ve heard of it. This book is truly captivating and full of surprises, curious characters and page-turning moments. Yes please!

Cons: The first few chapters (where Christie is setting the scene) are a little dry, yet I implore you to continue… it’ll be worth it in the end!

No.3 CURIOUS READ:  A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket 

Size: Coming in a generous 13-book series, the first in this journey is very petite indeed.

Pros: This book is a “wordie” delight. Your heart will go out to the three children (Violet, Klaus and Sunny) and you’ll quite often find yourself laughing at the witty nature of Snicket’s writing. Don’t be fooled by the grim overviews… plenty of light-heartedness still exists (I have personally little bits of the series even more humorous as I have gotten older!)

Cons: Some people really like this book and others don’t. You’ll probably fit into one of these categories. The writing style doesn’t suit everyone and that’s okay.

I hope this list helped… Happy reading, everyone!

OneTeenWriter

Leave a Reply

